Current time: 26-10-2014, 05:55 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

[-]
Please Read

The links to software on this site is for evaluation purposes only. You cannot sell or use this software for any financial gain, privately or commercially. We strongly suggest that if you like the software, buy it. This will ensure the companies provide a good quality sevice.



Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
IGO 8.3 for Windows CE 6 ??. Please help
28-09-2010, 02:18 AM
Post: #1
IGO 8.3 for Windows CE 6 ??. Please help
Hi there.

I've been struggling for days now trying to find a working version for my 1DIN DVD/GPS units, they are now running Windows CE 6.0 instead of 5.0.

My previous version of IGO8.3 is for Win Ce 5.0, and it does NOT work on this new version of Windows CE.

Please help me out!!. Im desperate!! :))
Quote this message in a reply
28-09-2010, 04:22 AM
Post: #2
RE: IGO 8.3 for Windows CE 6 ??. Please help
How come?
Igo dont care for what Windows CE, minimal CE4.20.
I have the same igo (PDA) running on a 4.20 and on a 6.0 Windows version.
What iGO are you using? Did you copy from one device to another? => then delete the save folder and check sys.txt for device related lines.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
28-09-2010, 04:29 AM
Post: #3
RE: IGO 8.3 for Windows CE 6 ??. Please help
(28-09-2010 04:22 AM)nabi Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.How come?
Igo dont care for what Windows CE, minimal CE4.20.
I have the same igo (PDA) running on a 4.20 and on a 6.0 Windows version.
What iGO are you using? Did you copy from one device to another? => then delete the save folder and check sys.txt for device related lines.


Hmmm!!. I have different copies on my disk, just stored same versions / with different data/branding files. I test out many dvdunits weekly.

And I have never had this problem, but I saw that it was CE 6.0 and I thought that this was the issue! :-).

Im copying the files over again now, and i'll simply try to delete the save folder and see how that goes :)).

What happens is:
When I click navigation, the bootscreen comes up, and then it kicks me out. The resolution is correct!.


I tried deleting the "save" folder, but without success, same problem occour still. :(.

Here is my sys file (if any helpfull):

[interface]
skin="ui_igo8"
resolution_dir="800_480"
vga=0
maxzoom2d=6000000
show_exit=1
laneinfo_signpost_enabled=1

[rawdisplay]
driver="gdi"
class="landscape"
highres=0
screen_x=800
screen_y=480
stretch=1

[map]
2dheadup=1
3d_max_tiltlevel=9000
3d_default_tiltlevel=9000
3d_max_zoomlevel=500
3d_min_zoomlevel=40
3d_max_zfar=500
3d_scale_carmodel=1
3dcarsizemin=60
3dcarsizemax=70
3dcarsizemul=65

[roundaboutcam]
enabled=0 ;(1)
centery=20 ;(50)

[screen]
menu_animation=0

[navigation]
show_current_city=1
show_countrychange=1

[debug]
disable_outlookpoi=1
show_oneway=1
show_speed_limit=1
skip_eula=1
enable_roadshadow=1

[sound]
sound_q_length=200
queue_length=200
ding=0

[msnd]
msnd.start=0
Quote this message in a reply
28-09-2010, 07:37 AM
Post: #4
RE: IGO 8.3 for Windows CE 6 ??. Please help
When iGO starting up, it checks license resolution language voice, I think in that order.
How sure are you about the resolution? Does your data.zip support it?
And/or did you you change data.zip and branding.zip files around?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
28-09-2010, 07:50 AM
Post: #5
RE: IGO 8.3 for Windows CE 6 ??. Please help
(28-09-2010 07:37 AM)nabi Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.When iGO starting up, it checks license resolution language voice, I think in that order.
How sure are you about the resolution? Does your data.zip support it?
And/or did you you change data.zip and branding.zip files around?

Im pretty sure I have changed the data/branding zip sometime down the road, but it is ages ago.

Data.zip is 43,369 KB in size
Branding.zip is 3,711 KB in size

Im 100% sure about the resolution, as I have used the resolution tester aswell to confirm it. It is running 800x480 in resolution.

How can i check if the data.zip supports it?. (been having problems finding releases on the net aswell nowadays, of branding/data zip)
Quote this message in a reply
28-09-2010, 08:04 AM
Post: #6
RE: IGO 8.3 for Windows CE 6 ??. Please help
There are many data.zips around.
And your sys.txt looks O.K., as long as data.zip is right.
Replace your sys.txt with this one

[interface]
skin="ui_igo8"
vga=0
maxzoom2d=6000000
show_exit=1
laneinfo_signpost_enabled=1


[map]
2dheadup=1
3d_max_tiltlevel=9000
3d_default_tiltlevel=9000
3d_max_zoomlevel=500
3d_min_zoomlevel=40
3d_max_zfar=500
;3d_scale_carmodel=1
;3dcarsizemin=60
;3dcarsizemax=70
;3dcarsizemul=65

[roundaboutcam]
enabled=0 ;(1)
centery=20 ;(50)

[screen]
menu_animation=0

[navigation]
show_current_city=1
show_countrychange=1

[debug]
disable_outlookpoi=1
show_oneway=1
show_speed_limit=1
skip_eula=1
enable_roadshadow=1

[sound]
sound_q_length=200
queue_length=200
ding=0

[msnd]
msnd.start=0


If this doesn't help, change 'my' sys.txt, and see the first lines are like this

[interface]
skin="ui_igo8_da"

Try again. If that doesn't work, replace the zip files.
Here is a data.zip and branding.zip version for your resolution: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Unrar it, replace your data.zip and branding.zip.

Try again and report back
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
28-09-2010, 08:38 AM
Post: #7
RE: IGO 8.3 for Windows CE 6 ??. Please help
1. Tried changing the sys file only, and I get this error: "Failed to open file: ui_igo8\960_544\loading.bmp . The first attempt when booting the screen goes black for a few and returns back to where I started. Second time / 3rd I get the error message as described above.

2. After this I tried changing the sys version you gave me as instructed, from the previous setting to : skin="ui_igo8_da" , but it still gives the same error as above.

I noticed that IGO has made a "crash" file aswell now.

3. I replaced the data and branding.zip with your files, but now it isnt booting at all, first time I tried the dvdplayer rebooted, second time I tried to boot nothing happened. So now I dont get a bootup screen or anything.

I see that my IGO8.exe file is 6.90MB in size.
Quote this message in a reply
28-09-2010, 08:50 AM
Post: #8
RE: IGO 8.3 for Windows CE 6 ??. Please help
Very strange you have something 960x544 there! The sys.txt I gave you is not that different from yours. I basically left out the resolution stuff, because iGO is smart enough to find out itself.

Add to sys.txt

[rawdisplay]
screen_x=800
screen_y=480
class="landscape"
highres=0


And delete the save folder until iGO works!!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
28-09-2010, 09:21 AM
Post: #9
RE: IGO 8.3 for Windows CE 6 ??. Please help
(28-09-2010 08:50 AM)nabi Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.Very strange you have something 960x544 there! The sys.txt I gave you is not that different from yours. I basically left out the resolution stuff, because iGO is smart enough to find out itself.

Add to sys.txt

[rawdisplay]
screen_x=800
screen_y=480
class="landscape"
highres=0


And delete the save folder until iGO works!!

Thanks for your continuing help ! Much appreciated nabi!.

After I added this code I atleast get the bootscreen back up, but no errors of any kind, just show boot screen and I get back to the mainmenu, like previously. This is a hard nut to crack apperantly Computers_comp26 . Stops at INIT API.

Smiley-signs028

hehe :)


FOUND THE SOLUTION
(this was mentioned by another user at another forum)

Quote:this is not resolution problem!
on WinCE 6.0 the older igo8.3 versions not working (like on Wayteq pna).
try newer igo 8.3.4 version with worldwide licens file, will working!
Quote this message in a reply
28-09-2010, 05:59 PM
Post: #10
RE: IGO 8.3 for Windows CE 6 ??. Please help
@ raw

I am pleased that you have found a solution to your problem.

However it may not be Win CE 6 as such, which is to blame. It is known that device manufacturers do sometimes modify CE and other operating systems, to suit their particular needs. So it may be a combination of your iGO8.3 and the particular 1DIN device, that you have. It would be interesting to know what exact version number of your non-working iGO8 is.

I have just tested two of my devices, with old versions of iGO8. Both are running CE 6.0,

One is a Chinese 7" 2DIN unit with 800x480 resolution, and with that I'm using an iGO8 v8.3.2.93112.

The other one is a Chinese 4.3" with 480x272 resolution and using iGO8 v8.3.1.64181.

Both of them work 100%.

So I am still inclined to think that your original problem was in data/branding.zips. That "960_544" resolution "loading.bmp" is very odd. Haven't come across that one before in GPS units.

But if if works, leave it alone. As an old wellknown member of this forum always used to say "if it ain't broke, don't fix it"

Cheers

==Computers_comp26==
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
28-09-2010, 07:16 PM (This post was last modified: 28-09-2010 07:54 PM by geoff.)
Post: #11
RE: IGO 8.3 for Windows CE 6 ??. Please help
Please do not quote from the above post, it's a waste of space
Hi there.

I was using version 8.3.2.64873 previously, this still works at most of my DVD/GPS units, however, it wont work on anything with Windows CE 6.0. Now im using 8.3.4.117940 which is "abit" newer :-). I've also downloaded PRIMO now, which I thought I never would, thanks to Robynk!! Thanks again. And thanks alot for all your help guys, dont know what I would do without it Big Grin
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Chinese GPS running windows CE and IGO8 skiscotty 37 30,730 14-10-2014 12:40 AM
Last Post: chas521
  IGO 8.3.5.193799 May-27-2011 titisoim 139 101,952 05-07-2014 05:23 PM
Last Post: bazzle01
Question Igo 8.3.5 2013/2014 New Zealand map and data? deeplyfried 4 488 22-06-2014 11:11 AM
Last Post: deeplyfried
  List of iGO 8 (Windows CE) releases nabi 58 62,288 16-06-2014 10:53 PM
Last Post: nabi
  how to install igo software for my navigation f350 binatone funboy 31 22,102 08-06-2014 02:17 PM
Last Post: ulyssy



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)